Flat Preloader Icon


Winter 2023

Message From Your ACHE Regent

Winter 2023


Since my last Regent message, ACHE announced some exciting upcoming changes for the FACHE Credentialing Requirement for certification and recertification. Effective January 1, 2024, the new requirement is to complete 36 hours of continuing education hours over three years, including:

  • A minimum of 12 ACHE In-Person education hours
  • 12 ACHE Virtual Interactive Education hours
  • and up to 12 Qualifying Education Hours

The new format is a positive move, allowing Fellow applicants and recertifying Fellows to enjoy the best of both worlds, while supporting the integrity of the credential. I encourage you to visit the website to familiarize yourself with the upcoming changes.

Whether you are a student, early careerist, or even senior level executive, your path of professional development is one ACHE is here to help with. Being a Fellow signifies your personal commitment to professionalism, ethical decision-making, competence, leadership, and a dedication to lifelong learning. While personal and professional growth and enrichment are never complete, for several Iowans the journey to ACHE Fellow will culminate at this year’s 89th Convocation Ceremony on Sunday, March 19, where we will recognize and honor those that have attained the Fellow status in the last year.

A little closer to home, here in Iowa, I’m happy to share that your ACHE of Iowa chapter is hard at work planning 2023 educational offerings and annual meeting. As I always do, I encourage you to get involved with the local chapter. There are numerous opportunities to help with education, communications, and networking. Please continue to share with me your feedback and suggestions on how ACHE can improve your member experience. I look forward to seeing you all soon!

Welcome New Members and Fellows!

  • Karen Rosengreen
  • Henrique Valim
  • Hailey Strudthoff
  • Amy McDonough
  • Scott Balsters
  • Callie Babcock
  • Greg Opseth, RN
  • Colin M. Farley
  • Matthew Morris
  • Anita H. Becker, DNP, RN, NEA-BC
  • Kyle J. Ellenberger
  • Jashan Gill
  • Brian S. Sims, FACHE

ACHE of Iowa – Chapter Officers

President – John M. Heinemann, FACHE – john-heinemann@uiowa.edu
President-Elect –Catherine Hillestad – chillestad@adaircountyhealthsystem.org
Membership Chair – Ryan J. Danielson – ryan.danielson@commonspirit.org
Education Chair – Paige L. Jaeger, FACHE – Paige.Jaeger2@unitypoint.org

Stay well,


Sam Schone, FACHE
Regent for Iowa